Posted by: k | February 28, 2010

It’s All About Me – And It’s About Time, Too.

This year, I have vowed to go after everything I wanted. So far, it’s working for me.

Work wise, I’m still contracting, but in two weeks I’m transferring to a department in which I have experience. They’ve given me a 12 month contract, as opposed to the usual 3 months, and they are wanting someone who is willing to fill the role permanently – which I am. It’s not a position I went for; rather, they approached me. And since lately I’m all about “going for it” – I did.

My nail course starts this coming Saturday, the 6th, and I am mega excited. A little nervous, but I think that’s more nerves about the long drive than the course itself. I only travel in small circles, see, and for me to drive an hour down the coast for this course? It’s kind of a big deal. I did a test run last weekend with Matt, and we made it there and back in one piece. I’m a little sad about giving up my Saturdays for 18 weeks straight, but it’s definitely going to be worth it.

My gym is holding an 8 week weight loss challenge which starts tomorrow. I can’t believe tomorrow is the FIRST of MARCH. What the hell happened to January and February?! The year is already one sixth gone… it’s ridiculous. Anyway, the gym challenge. I’ve been fighting with my weight for years, and I am just so damn tired of being trapped in this body. I’m uncomfortable, tired, and just plain fed up with myself. This challenge is it for me. It’s the kick up the arse I’m so desperately needing. My trainer has struck a deal with me: if I lose 8kg in those 8 weeks, she is going to treat me to a massage out of her own pocket. If I lose more than those 8kg, she’s going to throw in a pedicure AND a facial as well. She wants me to do it just as much as I do! I just need to focus, be outright selfish if I need to be, and get in there and do it. I can do it, I just need to prove it to myself, and keep on telling myself that I’m worth it. That’s my biggest problem; not believing that I am worth it.

In preparation for the next 8 weeks, and getting into ‘”I’m worth it!” mode, I had a full on girly pamper-fest tonight. All the stuff I should be doing for myself and don’t, I did it. I’m quite slack, I’m sure I’m going to pay for it in my old age… So all in one hit, I:

  • Put a toner through my hair (the downside of bleaching, it can start going yellow)
  • Started my tooth whitening treatment
  • Cleansed and toned my face, put on a clay mask, and then moisturised
  • Defuzzed all necessary areas
  • Gave my body a once over with a scrub… trying to get rid of the blasted sunburn peel
  • Moisturised, including using the gradual self-tan moisturiser on my albino legs
  • Cleaned my new piercing – oh, didn’t I tell you about this? Say hello to my newly pierced tragus:
    (No, it didn’t hurt, and it was done so quick I wouldn’t have had time to complain if it had… it’s also itchy already which is a very good sign!)

All that girly stuff is a lot of work, but I’m worth it.

This year still promises to be totally kick-arse. Yay!

Responses

  1. I’ve always wondered about getting my tragus pierced and always thought it would reaaaaallly hurt, since the skin there is quite tough.

    It’s always good to take some time out for yourself – in fact, it’s necessary these days. I’m glad you did – you don’t want to burn out!


Leave a Reply

Categories

