Posted by: k | January 18, 2010

My new found determination, or my resolve to be the most stubborn bitch to walk the earth.

It’s been roughly two weeks since I gave up the soft drink. I was hoping I’d be over the cravings by now, but OH GOD, GIVE ME A CAN OF COKE AND SLAP ME HAPPY, I’m not. I want it. I want it BAD. Matt is also struggling, which is only making me feel a little better. I’d be laughing my ass off at him if I wasn’t in the same boat. Oh yes, we’re in the boat, up the creek, without a tasty, caffienated, fizzy beverage to reward us for getting up there without our paddle.

The irony of it all is, we’ve both gone without before, and weren’t phased. This time, we can’t handle it. Damnit.

In other news – I have a new dining suite:

Dining setting. Is hot.

It’s awesome. And smaller than our previous table. And doesn’t need a tablecloth. Oh, and it only cost me $250.

I also have an announcement to make. I briefly touched on it when compiling my 2010 List, but haven’t gone into too much detail. After deciding that I need to make myself accountable, I’m putting it out there.

I have committed myself to doing the Bridge to Brisbane in August. The 4.5km race, not the 12km. And I’m aiming for my ultimate goal, to run at least HALF of it. I’m not a runner. Hell, I couldn’t even really say I was a walker. But I’ve decided I’m just going to get off my butt and do it. This month I’m working on getting up to, and maintaining, 10,000 steps a day. I’m doing pretty well at the moment, my average is just over 9,000 steps a day, so I just need to keep plodding along for the next 12 days. In February I’m going to start the Couch to 5K program. I’ve tried to do it before, but this time will be different. I’ve told my trainer I’m doing it – and it’s her job to nag me to death about it. I know I’ll do it if I have to answer to her. The program is set out over 9 weeks, but my trainer has suggested aiming for 12. Then I’ll have a few months to work on speed, and then I’ll be just about ready for the run. I’m shitting myself, but I need to prove to myself that I can do this!

The above all ties in nicely to my unofficial matra for this year – no holding back! If I want to do it, I’ll find a way.

Leave a Reply

Categories

