Posted by: k | December 30, 2009

2009 – The year that was

After seeing that the lovely Alyndabear and Katie have already done their years in review, I thought I’d do mine too.
This is now the fourth time I have done yearly reviews. If you’re curious, here’s 2006, 2007 and 2008.

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before? Moved out of home, got made redundant, and completed an 8 week boot camp, to name a few. I do believe that 2009 was also the year that I experienced my first hangover.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I didn’t do too badly. There were a few things that I would have liked to do but couldn’t due to unforseeable circumstances. I’m nearly finished working out what I want to do next!

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? My cousin and his wife had baby #3 in February. He’s gorgeous!

4. Did anyone close to you die? Matt’s mum passed away from an inoperable brain tumour in August – three months after diagnosis.

5. What countries did you visit? We had plans to visit the South Pacific, but unfortunately didn’t make it due to Matt’s mum falling ill. So, none.

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009? More faith in myself.

7. What dates from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? August 27th: Matt’s mum passed. November 6th: my last day at work before being made redundant.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Matt’s mum was diagnosed with a terminal brain tumour, I moved out of home, and I got told I was being made redundant, all in a 6 week period. My achievement? Not falling into a screaming heap like I wanted to.

9. What was your biggest failure? Getting too comfortable with where I was in life, I guess. Not expecting the unexpected, perhaps?

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? I got a whopping migraine and a bout of gastro back in May. I felt like utter shit for a week and a half.

11. What was the best thing you bought? In September and October I did an 8 week boot camp. I was going to chicken out, but I went to every single session. As a reward for finishing it, I bought myself a new iPod nano and had this engraved on the back: “The pain of discipline is far less than the pain of regret.”

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? Matt’s. He’s had a rough trot this year, poor thing. But he handled himself better than I thought he would. I think he even surprised himself.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? My pathetic brother-in-law who took us for a ride and is now back using speed. (Long story.)

14. Where did most of your money go? Setting up house and keeping the bills paid and mouths fed!

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Moving out – it was hard, but very worth it.

16. What song will always remind you of 2009? Any one of the songs from Paramore’s new album Brand New Eyes. Love it all!

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
(a) Happier or Sadder? I’m not sure yet. A lot of things happened this year and I’m still trying to sort myself out.
(b) Thinner or Fatter? I put on a few kilos… as I seem to do every year… sigh. It’s going to change!
(c) Richer or Poorer? Richer, thanks to the company who decided I was no longer required. I have invested wisely!

18. What do you wish you’d done more of? I wish I hadn’t relied on my job so much for my social outlet. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve made some awesome (hopefully lifelong) friends, but I should have gotten out more. When I lost my job I felt even more stranded than I possibly would have if I’d made the effort.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of? Putting off the inevitable. Procrastinating doesn’t mean it’s not going to happen, it means you’ve got less time to prepare!

20. How did you spend Christmas in 2009? Being our first Christmas out on our own, Matt and I had a barbecue at our house on Christmas Eve. Christmas lunch was with Matt’s eldest siblings, and Christmas dinner was with my parents.

21. Did you fall in love in 2009? I was already in love, but like everything else this year, there’s been ups and downs.

22. How many one-night stands? Never had one.

23. What was your favorite TV program? I enjoyed MasterChef, which wasn’t something I thought I’d get into!

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? I don’t hate anyone. I may dislike the odd person, but I can’t be bothered putting effort into someone that I feel negatively about.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery? I can’t really say I discovered anything new.

27. What did you want and get? A new iPod.

28. What did you want and not get? My first proper holiday.

29. What was your favorite film of this year? Monsters vs Aliens. I love kids movies!

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I worked all day, unfortunately. Then I went out for dinner with Matt and my parents, which was nice. I turned 22 – I’ve heard it’s all downhill from here.

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? I don’t know, to be honest. This was a shitty year, and I don’t think anything could have made it more “satisfying”.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009? I think I started showing a little more leg this year. I got into wearing dresses.

33. What kept you sane? My friends.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? I don’t pay much attention.

35. What political issue stirred you the most? Watching the inauguration of the new US president. That’s history right there.

36. Who did you miss? I miss seeing my parents every day. I don’t really have an excuse though, I only moved 2 minutes away!

37. Who was the best new person you met? I need to get out more. I can’t even remember if I’ve met anyone new this year! How sad.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009. If you want something bad enough, go for it. An opportunity will present itself.

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year. “And I won’t look back ’cause there’s no use, it’s time to move forward”  Paramore – Feeling Sorry

40. What are your resolutions for 2010? The main one is to become a qualified nail technician, and see about going in a different direction career wise. I have a few others, such as trying to become a better cook and running a 5k.

Responses

  1. It’s not all downhill from 22, don’t you worry! 😉

    Sounds like you had a big year and come out stronger for it. I hope you have a great new year.

  2. I agree with Katie. We’re still kicking! 😉

    Here’s to 2010. I still want you to get that nail qualification… I need some nice wedding nails at some point, when I come home. x

    Hugs!
    (P.S. I was thinking of getting extrapounds up and running again .. want to be buddies once more?)


Leave a Reply

Categories

