Posted by: k | December 19, 2009

Twenty-two

Yesterday was my birthday. It was pretty good.

I did have to work all day – I arrived to find a card and hole-punch confetti on my desk. I’d only mentioned my birthday in passing, and considering I’ve only been on contract there for five weeks, it was a nice surprise! I didn’t work my arse off, but I did what I was needed to do. We all had Red Rooster for lunch, and then I put on my iPod and tried to tune out the fact that I was still working!

After work I headed home and got changed, and then we went and picked up my parents and went out for dinner. It was nice and relaxing, not too loud, and then we chilled out a bit at my parents place before coming home.

Present wise, I got two new charms for my second Pandora from Matt, a stereo from my parents which plays CD’s and also directly from my iPod, and a nice bunch of flowers. One of my friends swung by during the day and left a card and a small present in my letterbox. I unwrapped my present and found this little guy:

His name is Aka-Oni, and he is a Watchover Voodoo Doll. His little card says he is to help “kickstart your life, give you courage and confidence to get things done”.
I think he’s gorgeous! I love little quirky things like this guy… right now he’s hanging off my handbag.

This time next week, Christmas will be done and dusted for another year! Tomorrow I have to do some grocery shopping and pick up the last bits and pieces we need for our Christmas Eve barbecue. All my presents are bought, I just need to wrap them and put them under the tree. I’m looking forward to a nice, quiet Christmas and a week and a bit off work!

Responses

  1. happy birthday !!
    glad you had a nice day – and how lovely of your new workmates to do something for you

  2. Happy belated birthday! I’m glad it was a good one and you didn’t have to work too hard. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

