Posted by: k | December 15, 2009

More Money, Please.

I’ve been lying awake at night thinking about what money is coming in and what bills have to be paid. The nail course that I got the enrolment forms for months ago and haven’t sent back – the course that needs to be paid for. The car registration that’s due in 5 months. The freshly delivered electricity bill which is due on New Years Eve. The week and a half off over Christmas which I don’t get paid for. The rent that’s due next week.

Part of the problem is having to adjust to being paid weekly. Sure, monthly pay sucks, but once it’s in your account, you know that’s all you have to work with until the next month. One lot of rent, two lots of grocery shops, etc. Weekly pay means hanging onto money from one week so there’s enough next week to cover something.

The irony is I’m being paid more now per month than I was before, if I add it up. Not a lot more, but enough to cover a fortnight’s grocery shop if I used it wisely.

I know I need to sit down and work out some kind of budget. I’ve never done it before, and I don’t know where to start. At the beginning, you say. Yes, but exactly where is that?
I’m thinking I should count how many weeks are between now and the item that’s due, and then figure out how much to hold out of each pay so it’s paid for.

It’s my birthday on Friday. I’m going out for dinner with Matt and my parentals, which will be nice and low-key. My birthday always means winding down to Christmas and the end of the year, so although I’m not overly excited about my birthday itself, I’m looking forward to the wind down.

Responses

  1. when i first got married (MANNNNNY Years ago), I wrote down EVERY bill we had coming in and worked out when it was due, and divided by the weeks till then and put the money away in an envelope (before the days of internet banking). But the envelope system is something that people still do – each week – divide your pay up into the relevant envelopes and when the bill comes in you should have enough to cover it – any over went in our ‘have fun’ envelope -it really helped us get ahead when we were a ‘struggling young couple’

    http://moneyfor20s.about.com/od/budgeting/ht/envelopesystem.htm


Leave a Reply

Categories

