Posted by: k | December 11, 2009

Christmas is the new black.

This Christmas is my very first one in my own house, so I’m mega excited. Not only did I have my very own new tree to put up, but I got to go out and buy all the decorations too. How excitement!

Our family thing is to put the tree up on December 1st. This year the 1st was a Tuesday, and there was no way I was putting in a full day’s work, going to the gym, and then coming home and putting up the tree. So we put it up a few days early, on November 28th.

Here is my new tree (squee!) in all its glory:

Can you notice how my tree is different to the others?

It’s black. Yes, I have a black Christmas tree, and I love it. It may seem a little strange, and honestly, if I had kids, I wouldn’t have gotten it, but I just love that it’s different. It’s an adults tree. This year it’s decked out in black, silver and blue. I was going to do red, but changed my mind. The black decorations are a little hard to see in this pic, but they’re there!

I took a couple of closeups, because I’m a photo whore budding photographer:

I love my tree, and this year I want to have a really nice Christmas – after the shocking year we’ve had, I think we deserve it!

Responses

  1. I kind of love your tree. I love that blue colour. Its my fave. We have it on our tree this year too. I didn’t get to do the tree this year.
    I’m kind of meh about christmas this year, to be honest. I’m working right through, all the public holidays all the actual HOLIDAYS. I can’t even get drunk on new years because I have to be up early for work the next morning.

    But I do like your tree, and hope that YOU have the wonderful christmas you deserve.


Leave a Reply

Categories

