Posted by: k | December 8, 2009

On the job

I never figured that after being made redundant I would have as much trouble adjusting as I am. Sure, my last job had its moments. All jobs have their moments. My last job had several of those “I’m so tempted to just walk out and tell them to stick it” periods. When the time came to leave, I was ready to move on to bigger and better. I was ready to leave it behind, and I just wanted to get on with what I wanted to do.

The only thing is, being in the same place for any decent length of time, is that without realising it, that job becomes part of your identity. Those forty hours a week become a massive chunk of who you are. As they would – the majority of your waking hours are spent there. I was so used to being there, day in and day out, doing the same old stuff over and over again. I had my place there, and I knew it. I wasn’t Miss Popularity, or Miss Suck Up, or anything else. I just did my job and that was it.

Being somewhere new is strange. Not bad strange, just different. Where I’m working at the moment is up in the air. Not the timeframe, but the department. People are leaving, the department is being moved to a different section of the building, and everyone seems to be on tenterhooks. I’m trying to find where I fit in. I’m being trained up – slowly. There are still many, many things I don’t know, and it seems very daunting. It’s the same feeling I had when I started my last job, and I know it’ll pass as I gain more knowledge, but it’s still strange.

Leave a Reply

Categories

