Posted by: k | November 25, 2009

Crafty goodness

So, as you probably know, I make cards, among other things. And if you’re my friend on Facebook, you can see an album full of crafty goodness that I’ve created.
(If you’re not my friend, FB friend that is, and you’re nosey, let me know and I’ll show you some stuff.)

My problem is that once I make something I’m happy with, I don’t like to give it away.
The past couple of months, I have gotten better. I’ve made cards with specific people and occasions in mind, and I’ve followed through with the gifting. I’m actually enjoying the whole process of not just making the card, but seeing the happiness of the person receiving it. Maybe because we’re now “too busy” to really care enough to put thought into something. I gave a friend a handmade birthday card and about a dozen packets of orange tic-tacs (a tale for another day), and she came back and told me that when she showed the card to her fiance, he didn’t believe that I’d made it!

This weekend I’m making some Christmas cards for my Dad to send over to close family/friends in Wales. I told him I wasn’t going to make one for every person on his list – because DAMN, he’s got a lot of friends – but I would make some up for some special folks.

Anyway, I still have a bunch of random cards without a recipient. Mainly thank you cards. I don’t know why, but I seem to be very thankful to nobody in particular.
I’ve decided I’m going to try and sell them. Or at least list them, and see what happens. I’m probably going to go for around $4 each – it covers my costs and is also less than a cookie cutter Hallmark.

I’m going to make some more candles too, and list them around the same time as the cards. With Christmas coming, it might pay off – cheapish ‘handmade’ gifts which have a bit more charm than a gift card. I have to wait to get started on the candles though, because I dropped and broke my mercury thermometer while searching for the aforementioned cards. Damnit.

Oh, and soap. I’m going to try and make some soap. The starter kit should be in the mail this week.

I’m certainly going to be busy, aren’t I?

Responses

  1. coool. I love making stuff. I always end up with grand plans for creating and then lose interest half way.
    Next year.. I’m going to attempt to send a postcard a day all year. 365 postcards. I’ve just started making a bunch of them in preparation. I wonder if it’ll last!


Leave a Reply

Categories

