Posted by: k | August 28, 2009

Peace

My mother-in-law passed away early yesterday morning. I’m relieved, for her sake, that she’s no longer suffering. It’s been very hard watching her become trapped in her own body over the past three and a half months.

Everyone is still in shock. Matt and I have taken the rest of the week off work, and things don’t feel any different. It hasn’t sunk in. Matt himself admits that he’s numb. I know that it’s going to hit hard when the funeral takes place… it makes it real.

There isn’t really a lot to say, I’m relieved that her suffering is over, she’s in a better place, and I’m hoping I can be strong enough to hold it together for Matt’s sake. They were very close, and I’m just waiting for him to fall to pieces the reality of it all hits.

We’ll see what happens from here.

Responses

  1. I’m sorry to hear that she passed away. I understand the feeling of relief, knowing she isn’t in pain anymore, but it’s still hard to lose a loved one. You are both in my thoughts during this difficult time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

