Posted by: k | August 23, 2009

All Time Playlist

I go through cycles with my music. I hear a song I like, get it, and then play it to death on repeat until I get sick of hearing it, or another song comes along. My iPod Shuffle usually cops a fair bit of abuse, because I skip through most of the songs looking for something in particular. It’s not that I don’t like what I’ve put on there, it’s just usually not what I want to listen to.

There are a few songs, though, that no matter how often I play them, I just don’t get sick of them. Ever. I do forget about them for awhile, until I dig up an old CD or scroll through iTunes, and then I’ll rediscover them, and play them to death again. I never really thought about it much, but over time I’ve been developing what I guess you could call an All Time list… favourites that I’ll never get sick of.

I think I’ve found another song to add to that list – Already Gone by Kelly Clarkson. It’s newish, which is strange for me because for a few years I’ve stopped listening to the radio, watching the music countdowns on tv etc.

Actually, Kelly Clarkson’s new album is pretty good. It’s taken me ALL DAY to download all the songs from iTunes, thanks to my stupid ancient computer. I’m giving all the songs a listen now, although for most of the afternoon Already Gone was on repeat.
(On a side note, this is the song that has the same melody as Beyonce’s Halo, and there was a bit of stink about that. But in my opinion, Already Gone shits all over Halo.)

So I got to thinking about what songs are on my All Time list. It’s not a big selection, which I think is a good thing. I can like a song, but I have to go absolutely apeshit over it before it makes the list. I’m going through my library at the moment looking for any lurkers, because I only know a couple off the top of my head.

At the moment, I have (in no particular order):

Pink – Who Knew
Three Doors Down – Here Without You
Savage Garden – Truly Madly Deeply
The Killers – Mr Brightside
Matchbox 20 – Unwell
James Blunt – High
Jason Wade – You Belong To Me
Kelly Clarkson – Already Gone

Not a huge list… I can be picky.

Anyone else have an “All Time” list? And what’s on it? You might jog my memory…

Responses

  1. Your “all time” list is not too far away from mine. I do have some punk, if I can call it that, and indie on my list as well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

