Posted by: k | January 16, 2009

I’m getting organised! (There’s a sentence I’d never thought I’d say.)

Organised! Me! Finally!

It’s a work in progress, but progress has been made in leaps and bounds.

Since I will be moving out of home this year, I have ultimately decided that I have a lot of shit stuff that I just can’t take with me. This is a big deal, because in all honesty, I’m a hoarder. It’s a family thing. I hoard, my Dad’s a hoarder, and recently, when he had to empty his parents’ house, he learned his Dad was a massive hoarder. My Granddad had thousands of photos strewn throughout his home, apparently.

Anyway, me and my organising.

Every morning, I rummage though clothing looking for something to wear. This inevitably ended in a clothes-slide of various fabrics and me angrily stuffing back items that I didn’t want at the time.

See here: 

Messy. Very messy.

Messy. Very messy.

This is where I decided to start. First I started by investing in some space-saver bags, and storing all my winter items. Sucking the air out of those things is fun! After all that, I had one totally empty cubicle, which I filled with the two blankets knitted for us by Matt’s mum. I dug out most of my cookbooks and stuck them in one of the top cubicles as well.

Then, the sorting. I sorted, and sorted, and sorted some more, and once I’d put back what I was keeping, I was left with this: 

I can see what I own!

I can see what I own!

I now have cubicles for pjyamas, pants, gymwear, work shirts, and two for casual/dressy tops.

Just to give you an indication of what I decided to get rid of, here’s the container of stuff I’ve decided to part with: 

100_12071

When I get some time, I’m going to bundle up the clothes into lots of three or four, and try my hand at selling them on eBay. I’ve sold things online before, and made a few dollars. I’m not looking to make money on them, but getting the storage container back would be nice! Any money I do get will be going into my savings account.

I have much more stuff to go through yet. There are a couple of containers under my bed which need to be sorted through – I’m sure 98% of it can go, but you never know, I’m more than likely to find something I’ve forgotten about and fall in love with it all over again…

On a side note, I lost my iPod 5 months ago. After much frustration and tearing the place apart looking for it, I’d given up… until the other night. I had a dream that I’d put it into one of my handbags. Tonight, I went through some bags, and would you believe it, I found it! YAY!

Leave a Reply

Categories

