Posted by: k | January 3, 2009

2008 Review

This quiz is becoming a yearly tradition – I’ve now finished it for the 3rd time since I started blogging.
Curious? 2006 in review and 2007 in review.

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?
I made Christmas cards for everyone. And they were popular!

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I did fairly well last year, and this year I’ve got a new list to work through!

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Nope, but apparently everyone not close to me gave birth, judging by the amount of baby bumps and newborns I saw!

4. Did anyone close to you die?
I lost my uncle and my best friend.

5. What countries did you visit?
None, but hopefully this time next year this question will have a different answer!

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?
A bangin’ body, a promotion and a house of my own.

7. What date(s) from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
The happiest dates – December 18, my 21st birthday, and December 20, my birthday party!

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Having a personal training session once a week since May.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not seeing any results due to laziness.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Nothing out of the ordinary.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
I paid Matt’s car registration as a Christmas present.
He was stressing about finding the money to pay it (due the week before Christmas!), so it was really rewarding to see the relief cross his face when he realised it was taken care of!

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
Mine. I freakin’ rock. There were a handful of times in ’08 where I could have quite easily have thrown in the towel, but I dug my heels in and perservered.

Also my parents & Matt – they insisted on hosting my 21st birthday bash and did all the preparations themselves from scratch, it was hard work but everyone had an awesome night!

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
A few people behaved appallingly, but it didn’t depress me, it just made me feel sorry for them.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Let’s just say I don’t have any leftover cash or savings. I can’t account for it… oops!

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
My birthday party! I have never seen so much purple in the one place in my life! And I won’t see it again…

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?
Sam Sparro – Black and Gold. Damn catchy.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

I. happier or sadder? happier
II. thinner or fatter? fatter, sadly
III. richer or poorer? richer

 18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Spent more time with friends.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Being angry.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
Christmas lunch with Matt’s family, and Christmas dinner at home.

21.What was your biggest challenge of 2008?
Having to adjust to driving a car with manual transmission again after driving Matt’s automatic for a couple of months while my ankle healed.

22. Did you fall in love in 2008?
I stayed in love…

23. How many one-night stands?
Zilch.

24. What was your favourite TV program?
Two and a Half Men

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
I dislike a few people, but I wouldn’t say I hate them. What a wasted emotion.

26. What was the best book you read?
I loved the Twilight series.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Thirsty Merc. I already knew and liked them, but once I saw them perform live I got right into their stuff. I even have a shirt!

28. What did you want and get?
A purple car and personalised number plates.

30. What was your favourite film of this year?
I’m going to say Madagascar 2, because it’s the only thing I remember seeing at the moment… and it was funny!

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I spent my 21st birthday at work, surrounded by chocolate, party poppers, cake, and good friends.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Getting that bangin’ body I’ve been ‘working’ towards for awhile now.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
“What fits without looking like I washed up on a beach?”

34. What kept you sane?
Nothing. Sanity is overrated.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
 I can’t say I was paying attention…

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Watching Barack Obama get elected. I didn’t think the Americans had the guts to vote in a black man, so it was great to see.

37. Who did you miss?
My dog, and my grandparents.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
New work colleagues!

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.
Just because it’s there doesn’t mean you HAVE to eat it.
(Learnt this one with like, 3 days to go, but better late than never!)

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
And you’re crossing the room
And you’re one step away
And I’m looking at you
And my heart’s in a daze…
What more can I say?
Thirsty Merc – Those Eyes

Leave a Reply

Categories

