Posted by: k | December 7, 2008

Twilight.

First of all, holy shit. I disappear from the blogosphere for… how long has it been now?… and WordPress has changed everything. Again.

Anyhoo.

I got curious after a friend at work started gushing about the Twilight series. After admitting that I’d looked at the books in a store and had been intrigued, she lent me Twilight, with the promise I’d get addicted.

Addiction, I has it.

I used to read anything I could get my hands on. It was a rarity to see me without a book in my hand, sprawled out in some unGodly position on a random piece of furniture. My favourite reading position was laying on my bed, on my back with  my legs upright against the wall.

I’ve devoured the Harry Potter series many times over, but honestly? Before that, I couldn’t tell you the last book I read, and ever since I finished Deathly Hallows, my reading well dried up. “I can’t find the time,” I’d think, and never really bothered. About six months ago I received a letter from my local library exclaiming “Don’t forget about us! It’s been 2 years since your last visit!” And it wasn’t until then that I realised I’d lost my library card, and hadn’t even noticed. I still haven’t been down there to get a new one.

I digress. Twilight. Sigh.

My friend gave me her book on… Wednesday, I think it was. I read three chapters that night, and didn’t really think much of it at first. It seemed like it was going to take awhile to get going. Thursday night, I read another 10 chapters, and bought New Moon, so I could keep reading. All day Friday at work, I was willing the day to end, so I could get home and keep reading. I was ecstatic about finishing early – more time to read before we went bowling! (Another story.)

Yesterday, I picked up New Moon at 8am, and it was finished by 3pm. Of course, I didn’t read for 7 hours straight, I went out for breakfast, did a bit of shopping, a few other odds and ends.

It was this morning, while I was raiding various stores looking for Eclipse, that I realised I had been bitten (heh, I made a pun) by the reading bug again. I thought I’d lost it.

When I read, it’s more than words on paper. The pages become my reality, and everything else melts away around me while I hang onto every written word. I recall reading a scene in one of the Harry Potter books, where a great storm was taking place. I looked up and out the window for a second, and was shocked that the sun was shining.

Likewise, with the Twilight series. I was about halfway through New Moon yesterday when I went out with Mum – to the part where Edward had left Bella, and I felt almost inconsolable, as though I was as alone as she.

I may be insane.

I’m also halfway through Eclipse – and have yet to track down a copy of Breaking Dawn, although there is a bookstore not too far from work. I’m sure I could make it in my lunchbreak. Oh, how that would torment my friend, she has to wait until Christmas until she receives her copy!

It doesn’t help that I’m a very fast reader. I don’t do it on purpose, but I fly through the pages. My intention is to read all four books, and then start at the beginning again, and savour everything. I’m sure there’s a few bits I’ve missed.

At risk of feeling strange, I feel like myself again, knowing that I’m still able to pick up a book and become completely and utterly lost within the pages.

Back to my book…

Responses

  1. Don’t worry, I know EXACTLY what you mean. I love to read. Whether I’m sprawled out on my bed, or on the floor under my lamp, or in my favorite fuzzy reading chair, I’m always reading. Always. You’ll never see me without a book. Ever. I’ve read Twilight, New Moon, and Eclipse all 3 times, and I’m reading Breaking Dawn for a fifth right now. All of my friends are borrowing the other ones, and I just got Breaking Dawn back, so I was really psyched. Anyway, I gotta go to church now, so, see ya!

  2. Yep, welcome to the Twilight addiction! 🙂 I borrowed them from Kirby – and have now bought the first 3 books for myself – waiting for Breaking Dawn to get a little cheaper before I buy it.

    And definitely see the movie – I know I can’t wait to see it here. Not released until 19th December in London.

    How are you doing anyway? I feel like I’ve hardly caught you at all lately. Miss our chats!

  3. Exactly, welcome to the addiction lol

    http://www.twilighterz.com

  4. I shared the twilight love.

    see the movie! it’s surprisingly not crappy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

