Posted by: k | July 26, 2008

Ouchies.

My ankle injury has been flaring up again, especially over the past week. I know it’s connected to the fact that I’m consistently going to the gym 5 days a week, as well as driving to and from work in peak-hour traffic – where I’ve got no other choice other than to ride the clutch. Sigh.

Heels, at this point, are both impractical and impossible. Which is a shame, because I’m going through a heel phase.

You would think, that with me going to the gym so often, and losing some weight, that my ankle wouldn’t be under as much pressure. Apparently not! It’s not like I’m trying to run a marathon or anything, I usually stick to 20-30 minutes on the treadmill at a powerwalk pace, 15 minutes on the cross-trainer, or if my ankle’s really causing me grief, I’ll jump on a recumbent bike. I actually meant to ask my trainer about it on Wednesday, but I forgot. Oops. I’ll have to ask next week.

I’m not about to give up on going to the gym now that I’ve finally established a routine that is slowly working. But at the same time, I don’t want to overdo it and then not be able to go to the gym… Perhaps the cold weather is affecting my ankle too?

Until I feel more steady on my feet, I guess I’ll just have to put these away:

I tried tapping my heels at work and saying "There's no place like home..." to no avail.

I tried tapping my heels at work one day and saying "There's no place like home..." to no avail.

Responses

  1. Maybe you could try something that’s not so harsh on your ankles? Like going to a cycle/spinning class, or swimming? I have similar issues with my knee…. and have just found it impossible to run more than a couple of times a week – otherwise it really yells at me!

    Hey, btw, are you weightloss blogging elsewhere still or is this the one and only kelly blog-home?


Leave a Reply

Categories

