Posted by: k | June 14, 2008

Holy-er than thou – it’s official!

Last Sunday, I talked about it.

Thurday night, I did it!

Proof:

Yes, it hurt. Yes, it’s swollen – very swollen. And the jewelry? Looks ridiculous. The bar is 12mm long, to allow for said swelling, and the ball on the front is gigantic, but I’m stuck with it for now. I think I’ll go back in the next couple of days and get a smaller ball on the front – but the length of the bar has to stay until it’s fully healed, between 2 to 8 weeks.

It took me 15 minutes to eat two pieces of toast on Friday morning. And it was painful. Very painful. Brushing my teeth was easier than I thought, I just hold up that side of my lip and brush away! I’ve become more aware of what I put in my mouth, and it takes me longer to eat it, which is a good thing. The disc on the inside is sitting awkwardly because of the swelling, and if I’m not careful, the disc slips under my tooth and when I go to close my mouth, it pulls down on the bar. Not a pleasant feeling – but one I’m getting used to.

Things I do to myself – seriously. I got some priceless reactions at work yesterday, from people asking “is that new?” to being told “you’re insane, by the way!” to people looking at it, looking away, and trying not to look at it again. It doesn’t look too bad in this photo, apart from the obvious swelling, but actually seeing it in person, it’s ridiculous. Too big!

Anyway, it’s done!

I had an inappropriate thought today. My friend’s sister has a labret piercing that she’s had for so long she can leave it out and it won’t close over. Her party trick is removing the jewelry, taking a mouthful of liquid and spurting it through the open hole. I wonder if I’ll be able to do that eventually…. haha!

Responses

  1. Oh Ajay does that through his labret one … is quite funny

    does look like a marilyn beauty spot !!!

  2. Wow that was fast! It looks good – it’s hard to see the swelling from here. How’s your work taking it? A lot of places don’t like facial piercings.


Leave a Reply

Categories

