Posted by: k | April 13, 2008

The Charade Chronicles.

My Charade, you know, my first car that I recently replaced and now need to sell – is starting to look like itself again, but with a newer and shinier paint job. I didn’t know Matt was so handy with a spray can. Heh.

Bascially, we had to respray it, because there was no way it was going to sell in the condition it was in. Someone had resprayed the car previously (before I bought it, obviously) and the paints reacted. You see, there are two types of paint for cars – acrylic and enamel. My car was originally enamel, but was resprayed with acrylic. If you haven’t already figured it out, the two types of paint don’t mix. The result was a lovely cracked effect all over the damn car, not dissimilar to a cracked egg.
(Which is, in essence, how my car got its nickname – “the egg”. Because it was white, small, and cracked.)

Matt said: “Oh, I’ll respray it, it’ll only take a weekend or two.” Famous last words.

I have chronicled the process of the respraying, because, let’s face it, I knew I was going to blog about it. And I also wanted to have pictures to cry over once it’s sold.

So here is the first picture. Just imagine that the bonnet and roof is white and cracked to the shit, and you’ll have a fair idea of the “before” pic. Here, Matt’s sanded back the bonnet to bare metal and has sprayed it with a combination of grey primer and primer/filler, the baby poo coloured one which you can’t really see, but trust me, it’s there.

The next picture speaks for itself, really. The whole lot has been sanded and primed. Putty has been applied where the odd dent was (*cough* stupidbitchrunninggivewaysignandhittingmeBITCH *cough*). Believe it or not, this was only the beginning of the priming. After this pic, Matt resprayed the whole lot with the grey primer. It actually didn’t look too bad…

Baby poo - stylish

While the car was that weird yellow/orange combination, Dad commented that the car looked like someone had crapped it out. Was funny at the time…

Here’s another baby poo coloured shot for you to digest. Can you see what I mean about the grey not looking too bad?

Baby poo side shot

After much newspapering, taping, and swearing about said tape being absolutely useless, here is the car as it sits in our driveway this afternoon:

Nearly done!

The whole car has one coat of white on it – and the bonnet has two. The bits of grey you see are where the paint ran a little, and Matt’s sanded it back and primed it again. It’s starting to look like my Charade again!

Here’s a front view:

Front view - white

Look at how shiny my bonnet is! It looks a little weird because Matt’s taken out the indicators, parking lights and the front grill – because it was easier to take them out than tape them up!

Not long to go now until it’s done! Woohoo!

Then he gets to start on my new car – which will be getting done with a compressor and air gun, I’ve been informed. And if that wasn’t enough, my friend at work wants her car resprayed as well! Any other requests?

Psst… leaving comments telling my fiance just how frickin awesome he is would be greatly appreciated. He already knows he’s awesome, but his sense of accomplishment is already elevated, with the paint fumes and all. Just tell him you love him – but not in that way, because then I will have to hunt you down and kill you.

Responses

  1. It looks fantastic!

    Nice work, Matt.

    I love your new car, Kel.

  2. Air Compressor…

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you….


Leave a Reply

Categories

