Posted by: k | April 7, 2008

Truly Madly Deeply

I would have to say, that one of my most favourite songs ever is Savage Garden’s Truly Madly Deeply. It’s just beautiful. If you’ve never heard it (shock horror) then I suggest you give it a listen. It’s one of the sappiest songs ever, but I love it! Am secretly considering it for my wedding song, among a few others.

Over the past year or so, I’ve been putting some musical feelers out, sort of. I heard a song by Cascada, this techno/dance group and I thought it was cool… so I went on a bit of a downloading spree.

A few weeks ago, I was looking for a song of theirs, and I saw this title: “Cascada – Truly Madly Deeply”, and I thought, surely not? This lot haven’t done a cover of the Truly Madly Deeply, have they? So I downloaded it. And listened, to about a minute of it. And promptly stopped it and deleted the file.

These folks, this chick, had done a cover of this song. And it was absolute shit. She has a pretty voice, but it doesn’t suit the song. She tried to hard. And they had tried to technoify it, which is just WRONG. It had a different beat, and it just didn’t sound right. Even Matt, who only ever listens to Kryptonite by Three Doors Down (a good song in itself), heard a bit of it and said “is that that Savage Garden song? ‘Cause it sounds like shit.”

It is sacrilage, to take a great song like this one and think you can “improve” on it. You can’t. It was perfectly done the first time. Don’t waste your breath.

All this happened about two weeks ago, and I’m still pissed off about it.

I’m off to stew in peace.

(Bit of trivia for you – Darren Hayes, the lead singer of Savage Garden, went to my high school and worked at the music shop two minutes from my house.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

