Posted by: k | March 25, 2008

Bloody hell! (And needles.)

I had my blood test today. I was so proud of myself. You should be proud of me too. I hate needles, even though I’ve been having one every 12 weeks for roughly 18 months now. Needles, blood and I are not friends.

I think this is the first time they had trouble finding my vein. It was 8am by the time I got in to have it done… and despite my lack of sleep last night, the burning sinuses and the general feeling of wanting to slide to the floor, I felt like saying “I’m alive… honest! There’s blood in there somewhere!”

Also had a slightly embarassing situation where my number was called, I went to stand up, and the chair started to come with me. Ergh. That’s it… beat the possible-glandular-fever sufferer over the achey head with the fat stick. I would go to the gym, if I didn’t feel like I would collapse. Stupid waiting room chairs. We don’t need the chairs to have armrests, we just need our damn number to be called already so we can get on with it.

You may recall that this time last week I blogged about my lumpy ear, and that it needed to be drained etc. Lump is supposed to be gone now. Lump is back, bigger than ever. Lump is deciding to ooze gunk at random intervals. I need to go back to the piercer and have it drained again. I’m also going to sit there and not move until she either (a) puts in the new studs I bought for them, or (b) provides me with some stainless steel sleepers that I will no doubt have to pay for. It’s ridiculous for me to pay $130 for a pair of sleepers, and I’ve decided that I’m not going to do it. Hey, my other two ear piercings have had no problems with sterling silver in them… I just want these stupid bars out of my ears, they’re too long and I catch them on everything. Comb hair? Snag earring. Have a conversation which involves avid use of hand signals? Snag earring. Roll over in my sleep? Snag earring.

I’m wondering when I’m going to start feeling “normal” again. Ya know, because it’s been so long since I woke up without a headache, feeling like I haven’t slept at all, with my earlobe stuck to my head.

(I did have a pedicure though. Which was quite amusing, giggling away while someone sloughed away all my dead skin. Am very ticklish. But the massage chair? Heaven.)

Responses

  1. Oh you poor thing! I almost feel guilty, since I believe I encouraged you to get your ears done again – and now look what is happening! Perhaps it is better to see a doctor about the “lumpy ear”, especially if it’s supposed to be gone by now but it’s not … it’s worse? Sounds like the piercer might not exactly know what they were doing…

    And as for the blood tests – ugh! You poor thing! Take a break, have a kit kat and get some attention from the fiance. You deserve it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

