Posted by: k | March 17, 2008

Hematoid, not Hemarroid

I wanted to change my earrings – the new set – so I went out and bought some sleepers. I know they’re fully healed now, so I figured heck, let’s get these yucky bars outta here.

I couldn’t get the balls to unscrew.
(My mind totally just went in the gutter then. If yours did too, please tell me in a comment so I don’t think I’m the only one.)

Okay, I figured. I’ll go back to the piercer and get her to do it. Just as well, too, because I checked out the backs of my ears, and I suddenly have a lump on the back of my right ear, beside the piercing.

The correct term for said lump is a hemotoid, which is basically a polite term for a pus-filled lump caused by putting extra pressure on the skin. I slept on it too heavy, in other words.

So at lunchtime today I went to the piercer, she popped it, got all the gunk out, and gave me some ointment that needs to be put on twice a day.

Exciting, no?

It should be cleared up in a week.

The piercer’s recommendation was that I avoid putting sterling silver sleepers in, because there’s a good chance that my body will react to the silver and then I’ll have yucky lumps that won’t go away. Her idea was that I invest in a pair of 14ct white gold sleepers, which are better suited to piercings.

Not suited to my pockets, though, because one small pair of white gold sleepers will cost about $130. I need to think about it.

Anyway, some point in the near future, I’ll get Matt to unscrew my balls (heehee) and I’ll change my earrings myself, instead of paying for my piercer to do it…

Responses

  1. Ewwwwwwww!

    And dirrrty. Unscrewing balls. Hrmpf. 😛

  2. *laughs*
    BALLS.
    AHAHAHAHA…

    That would be terrible though! Unscrewing balls… oh my goodness, let’s not think about it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

