Posted by: k | March 11, 2008

Two years, baby.

Matt and I celebrate our two-year anniversary tomorrow. Two years. It’s like I blinked and it’s gone!

Although our anniversary is tomorrow – March 12 – this being a leap year and all… we’ve actually been together for 1 year and 365 days. So I don’t think it’s that big of a deal if I post a couple of hours early.

I wish I could remember the first time we exchanged “I love yous”. I can’t, but there’s a lot of stuff from the early days that I can tell you about. I can tell you that he got my number off a friend who was trying to set us up, and instead of sending a text, he called, because he wanted to hear my voice. At the time, he owned a shiteous mobile phone that kept cutting out… and eventually it cut out and he couldn’t get it going again.

The next morning, I got this text: “Good morning Kelly, sorry about last night, my phone died, and then I still couldn’t get to sleep because I was thinking about you.” I still have it.

Our first date was going clubbing with a friend for their birthday. We were bored out of our brains, so I ended up fiddling with my jewellery. One of the rings I was wearing was a Claddagh ring, also known as an Irish wedder. It’s a ring that shows your availability, depending on which way you wear it. That night, I was wearing it to show that I was single. Matt asked me about my rings, and when I explained it, he said he wasn’t happy with the way I was wearing it, so I told him to change it around, and he did.

And I guess you could say that was “the moment”. If it wasn’t, the kiss after sure was!

I can tell you that a week after we started dating, he drove me home from work (I finished at 9.30pm) and then we spent the next 8 hours sitting in his car talking, laughing and getting to know each other better. Mum and Dad weren’t too impressed!

I could go on, and on, and on.

I can tell you that he has the most adorable smile, although it’s a pain in the ass to get him to show it for photos. He’s incredibly ticklish, but he managed to hide it from me for a little while. He went through a phase of dying his hair every colour he could imagine. He admitted to me that he actually liked shopping – that is, until he collided with my style of shopping, and then he quickly reverted to “are we done yet?!” status.

He cooks for me on occasion, he’s been known to clean, he does the washing on the weekends. He makes the bed. He protects me from situations that I’d get into because I don’t know better. (Can we blame my age for that?) He gives the best hugs and kisses. He drags me to the gym when I know I should go but I’d really rather not…

He is my fiance. He’s my other half – more than that – he’s my better half. In another year from now, we’ll only be 6 months out from our wedding, and while that’s scaring the crap out of me slightly, it’s also very exciting!

There’s so much more that I want to say, but somehow can’t put into words. Guess it’s like trying to explain what love feels like.

Happy two years, gorgeous!

xoxo

Responses

  1. nnAAAAWWWWWW
    Cuteness. Congrats! Two Years!

  2. Congratulations kiddos 😀

    Enjoy your anniversary!

  3. Awww Happy Anniversary – congrats on the two year milestone! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

