Posted by: k | January 3, 2008

2007 – Year in review

I’ve done this quiz for the past 3 or 4 years now. In the next day or so I’ll go through and find the links for previous years… to see how I’ve changed ūüôā Until then…

1. What did you do in 2007 that you’d never done before?
I joined a gym, something I said I’d never do, and I stuck with it!
There’s more too, but it’s nearly my bedtime and I can’t think straight!

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I kept most of them, and I’ve left them on “The List” to remind myself of my accomplishments.
This year’s resolutions are up there, too!

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
No, but I know of a lot of people I used to go to school with fell pregnant. My friend’s older sister had her baby boy a couple of months ago!

4. Did anyone close to you die?
My Welsh Gran passed away on the 21st of October after being diagnosed with cancer. She passed away just 4 weeks after diagnosis.

5. What countries did you visit?
None… boring ol’ me!

6. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?
I’d like to have a newer car, and a place of my own to share with Matt.

7. What date(s) from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
16th June – Matt’s 26th birthday – taking him out to dinner and surprising him with a very well-kept secret getaway!
21st October – Nan passing away
November – Got my first taste of unemployment
17th December –¬†Started my new job (which is going fantastically well!)
18th December – My 20th birthday
25th December – Christmas – the first one ever where my heart just wasn’t in it…

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Making a decision to get healthy – losing nearly 10kg and dropping two dress sizes!

9. What was your biggest failure?
It took me awhile to realise that only seeing the good in people doesn’t give you an accurate view of their character.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
In July I had a migraine that lasted for 3 weeks straight – after a CT scan it was determined that I had a severe sinus infection. Antibiotics did the trick!
On Boxing day (Dec 26) I severely sprained my ankle in a shopping centre carpark, walking in the rain. I’m still suffering!

11. What was the best thing you bought?
My gym membership, and the hotel room I surprised Matt with for his birthday.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
Matt, 110% –¬† I’ve been through a lot of crap in 2007, especially in the last few months, and have needed a lot of support, and he has been there for¬†me without hesitation.
I know your partner is supposed to be supportive, but he went above and beyond. Is love.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
A few people I used to work with. It didn’t make me depressed, just appalled. You know what they say, growing old is mandatory, getting mature is optional.

14. Where did most of your money go?
I’d like to appear wise and say that I did a lot of saving, but let’s be honest.
I spent $400 joining my gym, and then another $200 for the 12-week challenge.
And then it’s mainly clothes and shoes. And eBay.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Matt letting me take his car to work unsupervised one day. My car was on the verge of breaking down and he didn’t want me driving around in something unsafe. Bless him.

16. What song will always remind you of 2007?
A lot of songs will remind me of ’07… right now I’m going to say Timbaland/Onerepublic’s Apologize. I love that song to death.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
I. happier or sadder?
II. thinner or fatter?
III. richer or poorer? 

Happy in a lot of ways, but very, very sad at the same time. Finding out Nan was sick was such a shock, and then to have her fade away so quickly was devastating.

Thinner, but not as thin as I intended to be. I’ll fix that this year!

Last but not least, richer. It’s amazing what a decent-paying job can do!

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Relaxing and having a bit more time to myself.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Stressing out over things that couldn’t be changed, and letting people walk all over me.¬†I did prevail in the end…

20. How did you spend Christmas?
Christmas lunch with Matt’s mum and his brothers, and Christmas dinner at home.

21. (there is no 21?)
There’s never been a 21 in this darn thing. Maybe someone can suggest a question for next year?

22. Did you fall in love in 2007?
I was already in love, but I fell even deeper and became more attached, if that’s possible.

23. How many one-night stands?
Uh hello, I’m committed?

24. What was your favourite TV program?
Californication. It was so wrong, but so damn funny.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Hate is a waste of emotion. Why focus on that when there’s people you can focus good¬†feelings on?

26. What was the best book you read?
I read the final Harry Potter book – Deathly Hallows. And I felt numb when I was done. That isn’t REALLY the end… is it?!

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
My musical discovery this year was finding music that I could workout to… walking in time with the beat makes the time go faster!

28. What did you want and get?
A chance to take a step up in my career and get a chance to prove myself.

30. What was your favourite film of this year?
The Simpsons Movie

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Just another day at the office, but I got to come home to cake! It was my 20th birthday.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Taking care of a few extra things I never got a chance to.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?
Match everything to the shoes. Seriously. And if that doesn’t work, buy more shoes!

34. What kept you sane?
My family, no doubt. And my bloggy friends!

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
You know, I don’t really fancy anyone… but hey, Roger Federer’s pretty hot…

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
The federal election in November. I got to have a say! Woo!

37. Who did you miss?
I missed my Nan, and I hated not being able to see her before she passed away.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
I met a lot of fantastic people in ’07, mainly online. But the only virtual thing about my friendships with these lovely gals is our mode of communication!

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007.
If you’re not happy with something, big or small, take a risk. It will work out!

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
Strong as you were, tender you go
I’m watching you breathing for the last time
A song for your heart, but when it is quiet
I know what it means, and I’ll carry you home…
James Blunt – Carry You Home. I heard this song in the weeks leading up to my Nan’s passing… and it just had a huge impact.

Responses

  1. What a great way to look back on 2007 and reminisce. I agree that someone should make up a question for 21 – so here’s my ad lib question:

    21. What was the biggest challenge of 2007?


Leave a Reply

Categories

