Posted by: k | December 30, 2007

Another year over…

Well, tomorrow is the last day of 2007. I can’t say I’m terribly upset to see the end of this year.

This has been the most challenging year of my life. And although it’s been troubling, distressing, and downright painful, I’m proud of myself for making it through.

What have I done this year that I’m most proud of? Standing up for myself. Really standing up for myself. Taking the plunge and getting myself out of a situation where I was taken advantage of. Not allowing people to walk all over me anymore. That’s what my former boss was doing to me. He will say different, of course.

When I started working for him in September 2006, it was my first office job, and I had a lot to learn. I was naive, only ever seeing the good in people… and at times I felt like I was belittled for it by others. Funnily enough, I walked out that door at the end of October with the best lesson I ever could have learned.

People will take advantage of you and use you in every way they can. I wanted to prove myself in so many ways… prove that I was capable of so much more than doing reception. But I wasn’t going to get that opportunity there. I was too good at what I did to be offered the opportunity to step up. Isn’t that ironic?

I was in that job for just over a year, and if I’m totally honest with myself, it was never the right job for me. Even though I’d been there that amount of time, I was always, to a degree, an outsider there. I was at the bottom of the pile as far as the staff were concerned. I was just the young receptionist with no life experience. These people had new cars, new homes, boats and caravans… and they’d travelled all around the world. Me? I was still living at home with my parents, driving a 16 year old car, and the extent of my travelling is surprising Matt with a hotel stay 10 minutes away from home. I felt that I was always looked down upon. And I was.

My proudest moment of 2007 is when I walked out of that office with my head held high, smiling from ear to ear. They thought that I was being punished, that my leaving was the worst thing that could ever happen to me. It was actually a reward and a blessing.

I’ve been at my new job for just two weeks now, and already, I fit in. I am one of the team. My opinions and contributions are recognised. I have a stable, higher position in a larger and unequivocally better company. I am no longer working for peanuts. Because, that’s exactly what I was doing before – working my backside off, for no recognition and little monetary benefit.

I love my new job. And I love that I took the plunge to get it. I took a risk, leaving a job and being out of work for 4 long weeks, but it was worth it, so worth it. It paid off.

It is so cliche, I know, but everything really does happen for a reason. Something better will come along. Now, I look back to where I was just 3 short months ago, and I wonder how the hell I put up with it. These past few months have brought along so much personal growth for me, and I am so grateful.

On New Year’s Day I will post my now traditional look back on the year that was… in quiz form. I’ll even dig up links to years gone by, to see how the answers differ. It will be fun!

Responses

  1. I’m so proud of you, for making that choice and look where it’s got you! I know 2008 is going to be an incredible year for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

