Posted by: k | December 7, 2007

Busy busy busy!

I’ve been away a fair bit this week – forgive me?

Let me fill you in. I’ve been temping at a place not too far from home… and they were really happy with me and were considering offering me a full-time job. And then there was the interview I went for last Friday – remember, the one I said was weird?

I got a call from the agency on Monday, saying that the company I’d had the interview with had picked me as their first preference, and if I was still interested, to let them know through the agency so that my salary could be negotiated. So I said okay. I told the agency that I wanted the top salary they were offering… and they went away to negotiate.

Two painstakingly-long days later, the agency called and said that the company could only offer a salary¬†$4,000 less than what I wanted, but that it would be up for review every six months. I thought about it, and after doing some tax calculations, I discovered that the difference between the salary on offer and the salary I wanted was only $50 a week after tax…

I formally accepted, and now I have a permanent job!

What sucks, though, is that the company I’m temping for already asked me to stay until Christmas, and since I accepted the other job, the agency told me there’s a week notice for temps leaving… so I have to work an extra week temping, and start my new job just one week before closing for Christmas. I shouldn’t complain, really, because when I called the agency three weeks ago I didn’t think I’d get any work before Christmas, and now I’ve had a temp job and gotten a full-time job! The position I’m heading into has a proper title, in a proper department, and it’s going to be quite the experience – a pleasant one.

So I have been absent… clutching my mobile phone to my chest like it’s keeping me alive, waiting to get some news.

I start my new job on the 17th. The day before my birthday. A lovely little present to myself! And to top it off, it’s going to pay 1.5 times more than my last job – and that’s the starting rate!

Mum and I have decided that our poor lopsided Christmas tree will need to be totally fixed up tomorrow. All the ornaments will be taken off, the tree straightened, the lights restrung, and then everything put back. Then I can take a photo of it, something I intended to do last weekend… Hell, I might even wrap what presents I’ve got and put them under the tree!
Oh, and Dad actually admitted that the tree “toppled” last weekend! The man pact is cracking!

So that’s what’s been going on with me. A week’s hard work, negotiating and accepting a permanent job, getting my first pay in 5 weeks and buying shoes to celebrate (they’re for my new job, promise!) and scouting for the last few pressies I need to buy.

I will be making more of an effort to start posting again… and I will review “The List” before year’s end too, because I intend on making a new one for 2008!

Leave a Reply

Categories

