Posted by: k | November 27, 2007

New job. Not witty.

I tried to think of something witty for my title to tell you that I started my contract job today, but I couldn’t think of anything. Eight hours of staring at invoices and a computer screen will do that to you, I guess.

I’m very proud of myself. I got on the highway by myself, and drove down in 15 minutes, and drove home on the highway by myself… not bad, considering I’ve only done it about 5 times. Three of those in the past two days! My poor little car is not used to doing over 70kmph, so I think it’s in shock at having to do 100 twice a day!

As for the 8 1/2 hours in the middle, it went very well. The place is only 15 minutes away, and another temp started today, so I wasn’t alone. The people in the office were very nice, showing me how to use their computer system… very helpful and nice to talk to. There’s a lot of work for me to do for the next two weeks, a whole month’s worth of creditor invoices need to be put into the system, and more to do after that. We get three breaks during the day (unheard of in administration!) – 30 minutes for lunch, and morning and afternoon tea, 10 minutes each.

My first day went very well. The only downside was the headache I got from sitting in front of the computer all day. Which I guess will take a little while to subside, since I haven’t worked for a few weeks.

So there you have it. I’m working! Money! Yay!

Responses

  1. Nice job! I’m glad the day worked out well, and it should be good keeping you busy (and paid!) til Christmas 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

