Posted by: k | November 24, 2007

Australia decides

I’m very late with my post today, it’s not quite 11pm, and had it not been for NaBloPoMo, I probably wouldn’t have bothered.

But, I have just been a part of, and just witnessed, history taking place.

The Australian federal election was held today – the first federal election that I have been able to vote in.

Then I got to sit back and watch as the Howard government was kicked out of office. I watched the outgoing Prime Minister concede defeat, and the new Prime Minister make his victory speech.

Politics is something that I have never really been interested in, until now. Maybe because this time around, I actually got to have a say. And I liked it.

Prime Minister John Howard has had to make way for Prime Minister Kevin Rudd, who not only won, but totally kicked ass.

Tomorrow’s papers will be declaring it a “Ruddslide”. Which it was.

So now the question is, what will tomorrow – and the new government – bring? Time to find out.

Responses

  1. I’m so, so glad he won. SO GLAD.


Leave a Reply

Categories

