Posted by: k | November 20, 2007

Does it ever end?

For the past week or so, I’ve been feeling down. Really down. Not just down, but pretty useless, too. Life at home has taken yet another turn. I’m looking forward to seeing the end of 2007, let me tell you.

I’ll do a quick recap for you. This is what has happened the past 8 weeks (in chronological order):

# We found out my Nan had terminal cancer. The doctors said she had about nine weeks. Before this, she’d never had a sick day in her life.
# My auntie (Dad’s sister) sent money through so he could fly to the UK.
# Dad gets word that he needs to fly out two weeks sooner than arranged, because Nan’s not doing too well.
# Take time off work to spend with Dad…
# Dad flies out (oh yeah, if this doesn’t sound stressful, I am a HUGE Daddy’s girl, and we are a very close-knit family.)
# Work (and especially boss) gets extra demanding.
# Nan passes away, exactly 4 weeks after being diagnosed, and two weeks after Dad arrives to be with her.
# Take two days off work, for bereavement leave and study.
# Go back to work on the day of my Nan’s funeral to discover everything’s gone to shit and, well, I’m being treated as such.
# Start researching job options so I can quit.
# Stop working.
# Dad comes home. Have to break the news that I’m not working. He takes it well.
# Have to cancel my traineeship, and am still waiting for my partial certificate.

But wait, there’s more!

A few months ago, my Dad was doing some stuff in his workshop downstairs, and he got a small cut on his hand. Normally, he’s a quick healer, but this cut just wouldn’t heal. It got massively infected, and spread across his hand. A trip to the doctor revealed he was the not-so-proud owner of a Golden Staff infection. Strong rounds of antibiotics followed. It subsided, but never really cleared up.

Once he got back from the UK, it flared up again. This time it’s spread to his thumb, and it’s quite bad. Mum suggested (read: made him go) he head back to his doctor to get more antibiotics.

Do you want to know what my father’s idiot doctor said to him?

“We’ll get a biopsy done on that because I think it’s cancer, and if it is, it’s likely to be in the vein which means you’ll probably lose your thumb.”

Excuse me?! Is this fool completely tactless, or what? You don’t just come out and say something like that – especially when you know they’ve already beaten cancer.
(Yes, my Dad had cancer, he’s okay now.)

To make matters worse, his hand doesn’t look any different than it did when the staff infection was at its worst, so we’re all convinced that the infection has just flared up again. Everyone, except his doctor, that is.

So now, we have to wait a few days for biopsy results to come back. To make sure that it isn’t the c-word. I can think of another c-word for that doctor too, and it’s the word I hate.

I am fed up with all the shit that’s been thrown at us over the past couple of months. I can’t wait for 2008, seriously. It’s got to be better than this year…

In happier news, I signed up with a recruitment agency today, to do temporary/contract work. Basically, it’s like having a full-time job, but with a time limit, whether it be a few weeks, months etc. More than likely I’ll have a job by the end of the week – earning almost double what I was at my last job. Yay!

Responses

  1. I did temp work for a few years when my kids were younger and I found it difficult to be committed to a permanent job. It was fantastic! I loved the variety and good money as well as flexibility. I’m sure this will be great for you. Many of my assignments offered me permanent job opportunities. Like try before you buy for employees too! All the best with it.
    Also I agree that 2007 has been a challenging year!

  2. The job stuff sounds great, but hope your Dad gets good news. Thinking good thoughts for your family…

  3. Sending you & your dad good wishes!

  4. You’ve been through a lot – here’s hoping that things are looking up soon, and that job stuff sounds like it might be just what you need. 🙂

  5. Gosh, I’m sorry! I hope things turn around and that your dad is okay.


Leave a Reply

Categories

