Posted by: k | November 16, 2007

Friday’s Feast #9

Appetizer
What was your first “real” job?
I got a job as a ‘Christmas casual’ checkout chick at a discount variety store. The job went from just being a Christmas job to being a 3 year saga – complete with promotion. I left there in October 2006.

Soup
Where would you go if you wanted to spark your creativity?
I’d definitely go to a scrapbooking shop, or a class. I love walking into a scrapbooking shop and just letting the colours and patterns spark new crafty ideas. Anything with colour is a sure-fire hit for me!

Salad
Complete this sentence: I am embarrassed when…
I am embarrassed when I’m out with my Dad and he doesn’t bother to make his hair look half-decent. He hates haircuts, so it’s forever on the slightly long side, and it sticks out at all angles, even when he combs it!
Last summer though, he tried to shave it off himself while he was home alone. We came home, and there he was, half-bald. I say half because he couldn’t reach the back of his head properly! It was a real hack job, and Mum was NOT happy at all. She had to fix it.
There are two lessons to be learned here:
1. Women, never leave your man alone in the house if you own a set of hair clippers.
2. Men, listen to your woman when she says you need a haircut, then you won’t do something stupid like try out the hair clippers!

Main Course
What values did your parents instill in you?
Mainly honesty. Never lie. My mum’s saying was “Always choose a thief over a liar, because at least you know a thief is going to steal from you.”
Also not to judge others, especially on looks, and of course, good manners!

Dessert
Name 3 fads from your teenage years.
Well, I’m still a teenager, for the next 31 days, anyway, so I guess all the current fads count? I’ll see what I can think of.
1. Hackey sacks – these were huge when I was in high school. Those tiny little beanbags you had to keep in the air by kicking… if they hit the ground, you lose.
2. Emo – I definitely class this one as a fad. It’s kinda like the modern goth, isn’t it? They all dress in black and listen to screamo music and say they’re so sad… Put some colour on!
3. iPods.. and no, I don’t have one (yes, I’m serious). They just play music like any other mp3 player… what’s the big deal?

Responses

  1. Embarrassment over your dad’s hair is a universal problem. My dad’s hair always sticks up in the back–he just doesn’t take time to smooth it down properly.


Leave a Reply

Categories

