Posted by: k | November 12, 2007

Monday’s secret

I’m ashamed to admit it, but I’ve been keeping a secret from you.
(Actually, I’ve been keeping two, but you’ll have to wait until tomorrow for the other one!)

Being relatively new to the blogosphere, I didn’t really see the point of a feed reader. I read a brilliant post by Snoskred on them a few weeks ago that got me thinking, so I decided to give Google Reader a try. I signed up, and then said “now what?” It was too confusing for lil ol’ me. Things need to be nice and simple. Because I’m blonde, see?

A few days after NaBloPoMo started, I decided I wanted to extend myself – put myself and my blog out there for more to see. And I thought, ‘what happens if I find an awesome blog, comment on it, and then never find it again?’

So, I, Kelly, the girl who swore to herself that she didn’t get the point of a feed reader, and said she wouldn’t need one, decided that hey, maybe they’re a good idea after all. If she can find one that’s comprehensible and relatively easy to use.

I heard a few bits and pieces about Bloglines, and decided that I would sign up, and if I didn’t understand it, then it was a lost cause. To my amazement, it was simple enough for this blonde to understand! I am hooked.

I’ve added my regular blogs, and also 3 or 4 that I found while using the NaBloPoMo randomiser – which, I have to say, I’m a bit disappointed with. I always end up being ‘randomly’ at the same blogs! I only have 12 blogs on my list so far… not a lot, I know! But I am addicted. It makes it so much easier to look and see who’s highlighted, and then I know who’s posted!

I have been converted!

I want to build up my list some more, and I know I’m bound to find more great blogs while NaBloPoMo is on… but if you have any great bloggy friends that you’d like to introduce me to, go right ahead!

So that is my secret… do you still love me?

I will be back tomorrow with the other news!

Responses

  1. Google Reader is my best friend.

    Please go visit my sidebar with my blog roll but it needs to be updated. It’s a good starting off point though. I heart everyone on the list.

  2. You’re addicted to Bloglines… I love it! 😉

  3. Bloglines is what I use too and I haven’t looked back. I’ve found it the easiest out of all of them to use and it’s easy to keep track of blogs now (so I don’t miss anything). Welcome to the dark side – we have cookies! 😉

  4. Hey Kelly, I’ve tagged you for 7 weird/random facts. Can’t wait to hear!

  5. I’ve been blogging for two years, and only joined Bloglines last week. So I feel your pain and recognize how difficult it was to convert. Well done, you.

  6. Oooh… the first step in conquering addiction is ADMITTING YOU HAVE A PROBLEM! Welcome to the dark side.

  7. Bloglines rocks. It’s what I use for my daily blog reading addiction. 🙂 And you know you have too much time at work when you go through 100 blogs and have to go find more to read because you are bored. 😀 hahaha Have fun! Thanks for the tag btw..I promise I will get on that soon. I just have to figure out what’s interesting about myself! *laugh*

  8. I’m done with Google Reader – I just moved over to Bloglines myself. Google have dropped my page rank to a 0 today, so that means I’m pretty much done with everything Google. 😦

    Cheers,
    Snoskred


Leave a Reply

Categories

