Posted by: k | November 8, 2007

What started it all?

I have a question for you all, today. It’s something that I’ve thought about on and off, but I must admit, curiosity is getting the better of me! The question is:

What made you start blogging?

This is something I stopped to think about a week or so ago, when I realised that I’d been blogging (half-heartedly to start with) for nearly a year. What made me do it?

When I was a kid, I made several half-hearted attempts to keep a written diary. I thought it was a grown-up thing to do, and I also thought, even then, that it would be nice to have some sort of documentation, of what I did with my life. Not in general, but all the little things that go on throughout an ordinary day, that seem to really annoy you at the time, but you forget about pretty quickly. I thought it would be pretty neat to kind of go back in time, to a certain day, read what you wrote, and be transported back.

As I went through high-school, I made a couple more half-hearted attempts at diary keeping. Then I realised that I can type faster than I can handwrite – perfect for me, because usually thoughts fly through my head at a million miles a minute. I put two and two together, and figured that I might give it a go online. I didn’t give out the URL, it was mainly just a place to vent, and eventually, the novelty wore off, and I stopped writing.

In November last year, I felt like giving it another go. I considered restarting the old URL… I read it, and was transported back to the world of high-school angst. I decided to leave the old URL, kind of as a tribute to my old diary-keeping, and decided to start up a new place, for my new thoughts. My old journal was under a teenage pseudonym, because back then I thought it was cool to call myself a nutter. I decided to come up with something slightly more sophisticated, more adult, more me. And so, the ‘kellymarie187’ name was born.

I half-heartedly blogged there, too, although I tried to make more of an effort. It wasn’t until early this year that I decided to get serious about it. I met Aly on a weight-loss blog site, and she convinced me to give WordPress a go – and I’ve been here ever since!

I blog for many reasons. I blog about my life to clear my head, to empty my thoughts. I blog to express my opinion on things, which, granted, I haven’t done a lot of lately. I blog to put myself out there, so that maybe, out there somewhere, somebody will stumble across this page, have a bit of a read and say “I agree/disagree with that, but that’s a valid point nonetheless.” I would be lying (like most bloggers, I think) if I said I wasn’t fussed about whether or not I had comments on a post. A little part of me is a bit of a diva, yes, and honestly, what blogger doesn’t want to know what people think of their writing?

Well, it looks like I’ve answered my own question. Would you like to answer it, too?

What made you start blogging?

Responses

  1. I have a couple of hand-written journals that I still have. I had a Diaryland journal YEARS ago when I first started on the internet. Then it moved to Livejournal. Then it moved to Typepad. Then it moved to WordPress.

    It’s all gradual, but I’ve always written. I hope to keep going, too! (And so glad I converted you to real blogging, I take full credit for that.) 😀

  2. I have kept a diary off and on since I was 9. The problems were (a) I tended to write at length when I was upset about something, and then abandon chronicling when life was good and memorable and (b) I’d write in such an emotional way that I wouldn’t always record the “facts.”

    Blogging forces me to organize my thoughts, tell stories succinctly and be creative about reporting my every day life. Plus, it’s fun to share my life with people all over the US… and in Australia!

  3. I blogged on MySpace for two years (I know, I know!) and other than two brief stints at blogspot, I moved here from MySpace.

    I blog because writing is the only way I know how to get through something. It’s like a path through the pain. And it’s also (silver lining!) a way to forever keep the joy with me. It’s all just a click away.

    And the supportive community is like no other.

  4. I emailed you my answer cause I can’t figure out how to sugar-coat it for a public comment, yet still make sense. 🙂

  5. I started a LiveJournal at the beginning of college to keep in touch with high school friends. I switched to Blogger at the beginning of graduate school to make a clean break from the old blog. I wanted something more anonymous, less whiny, and a bit more mature.


Leave a Reply

Categories

