Posted by: k | November 7, 2007

Final Day of the challenge!

My 12 Week gym challenge finishes up today, and while I definitely didn’t lose as much weight as I was expecting or hoping to, I have to remember all the goings on over the past 12 weeks, including sickness, the death of my Nan, Dad being overseas… and I’ve done pretty well. Or so I think, anyway.

I’ll get my finishing weight today, and although I think I’ve only managed to lose roughly a kilo (2lb) overall, I’m a lot fitter and more toned, and I’ve definitely slimmed down all over. I have a waist again, a solitary chin, and I’m getting muscle! My thighs are a lot smaller, my butt is shrinking, and my calves are well-defined. I also need to remember that although I’ve only lost about a kilo in the past twelve weeks, over this whole year I’ve lost nearly 10kg (22lb)! I’m making it my goal to get to the 10kg lost mark by Christmas, and next year, the rest of this extra weight is going. I am committed!

Since I started losing this weight, I can feel myself getting more confident – there’s less of me, and I can’t hide behind all the fat anymore. I don’t want to. I’ve made some fast and firm friends at the gym, including a few personal trainers, who are always cheery and happy when they see me, and say hi, and have a conversation. That’s what I love about my gym!

This year, and especially the past couple of months, have been really trying for me. I couldn’t escape all the stress in my life, between my personal life and work. But now, I’m starting to relax, and things are definitely going to pick up for me, I can feel it. I am going to end this year on my terms… on a very positive note!

Here’s my horoscope for the next week:

You forsake the familiar in order to give your life more excitement and meaning. Loved ones will eventually support this decision and admire you, but this week, you’ll notice how baffled they are by your actions. That’s OK. You don’t have to be or think like someone to be loved by him or her.

The excitement and meaning bit is what I’m looking forward to!

ETA: I just realised that my blog officially turned one yesterday – wahoo!

Responses

  1. A 12 week gym challenge sounds great. I was planning on going to the gym a year ago and never did. It’s nice that you’re trying, that’s the best thing you can do 🙂 Wishing you luck!

  2. A 12 week gym challenge sounds great. I was planning on going to the gym a year ago and never did. It’s nice that you’re trying, that’s the best thing you can do 🙂 Wishing you luck!

  3. 10 kg is amazing for one year!!! Awesome!

    I firmly, firmly believe that exercise is the #1 key to self-image and weight loss, especially for women. Making your body feel powerful is more important than any number on any scale.

  4. Happy birthday for your blog! 🙂

    And congrats on the weight loss – it’s so hard to get motivated, so you’ve done awesome. Also the fact that you are going to the gym is great because you’re toning and getting more muscles, which will slow down the weight loss numbers, but be good for you. If that makes sense. Anyway, congratulations! 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

