Posted by: k | November 3, 2007

Saturday – blonde and blonder!

Today went so quickly! I blinked and nearly missed it!

I had a bit of a sleep in, and automatically thought upon awakening, ‘Need to get up, or you’ll waste the weekend away’, before realising that I don’t have a job to go to on Monday! So instead of running around like a headless chook, I’m going to relax and enjoy my time off… because it won’t last.

Today, Mum and I went to the hairdressers for our bi-monthly haircolour, and our usual monthly trim. Mum wanted the copper streak taken out of her hair – although everyone loved it and she got constant comments on it, she said it just “wasn’t her”, and I wanted my hair lightened up some more, but not so light that regrowth would be an issue in 48 hours.

We had another girl do our hair for the first time… our regular hairdresser had her baby last night! A boy! Woohoo! I didn’t catch what his name was, but Mum was told that his name is the Latin name for “Alex”. Awesome.

I told Laura (hairdresser) what I wanted, and she suggested blonde foils, and another ash-blondish colour inbetween. Sounded good! So she got to work putting the foils in. One foil, and another, and another… and she just kept going, until my entire head was covered in foil. This is where I started to silently freak out about how much this was going to cost… then the other colour was put onto whatever little hair was not encased in tin foil.

Mum’s hair was done pretty quick, only a few foils. And then we sat there. And sat there. We had to get moved around a few times because the salon was so busy… and still, we sat there. We were done, two and a half hours later. It’s never taken us that long to get our hair done before! But, it’s worth it.

As for my hair, I nearly fainted when I had to pay. I wasn’t wrong about a full head of foils being expensive… with a $20 discount, I still had to part with… $175! It looks awesome though, and I’m very happy with it, and I know I’ll look good when interviews roll around. I felt guilty for spending so much (hence why I have yet to tell the other half!) but hey, it’s my money, and I’m just going to treat it as a present to myself for the past 6 weeks of hell I’ve gone through.

Now, if someone would like to invent a potion or a pill that will stop hair growth indefinitely, I would be very grateful. I want to hang onto this do for as long as possible!

And so you know what I’m talking about, I did some posing by myself in the bathroom and took some piccies:

100_0397.jpg

I also put on my fascinator, which I had bought off eBay with the intention of wearing it to the Melbourne Cup Lunch/office do on Tuesday, but since I’m now (obviously) not going, I figured I need to wear it at least once!!!

Also, please excuse my dark circles… it was stinking hot here in Brissy today and it was pointless putting on makeup, because it would just slide on off!
(Oh, and after 10 months of hard work, I now only have one chin! YAHOO!)

100_0408.jpg

100_0407.jpg

Responses

  1. I love the hair! It looks awesome – and you totally deserve it. And the bow in the hair is just so cute 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

