Posted by: k | September 25, 2007

10 Things I Like About Me

Okie dokie. I pinched this from Laurel, and to be honest, it’s probably going to be a stretch for me to finish it. But, I guess that’s the whole point of it, because in a split second I could give you a list of 10+ things that I don’t like. So we’ll see how I go.

1. I like my eyes. They’re different. First off, they’re blue, which isn’t the most common eye colour. Sometimes they look quite bright, other times, grey. Also, they’ve got a bit of a slant to them. They slant up a little at the outer corners. Very cool when you’re experimenting with eyeshadow.
2. I can make people laugh. I have a witty sense of humour, and can usually spit out a comeback that will make you stop dead in your tracks, if you dare to have a go at me. If that doesn’t work, I usually stoop as low as self-depreciative humour to get a chuckle out of you.
3. I finally made a good choice for myself and decided I was sick of carrying all this extra weight. I joined a gym, stuck to my guns, and so far, I’ve managed to get rid of 8kg, which converts to what, 17.6lb. Not bad! Still have a fair way to go, but I will get there!
4. Underneath all this flubber (which will be gone by December 2008, I swear) is actually quite a bit of muscle. Not ugly muscle, but good muscle for toning. As soon as I went to the gym, my legs toned right back up again, especially my calves. It makes walking in heels easier (a rare occurence, but a nice one when it happens). And, I can now leg press 109kg! That’s 240lb, folks. More than I weighed to begin with! Phwoar!
5. I’m stubborn. Which can be bad, but in my case, it’s good. I always used to give in to what other people wanted for me. When my parents disapproved of Matt, I put my foot down. Too bad, I said. I love him and I want to be with him. And here we are, nearly 19 months later, I have blingage, and I love him even more today than I did when I said I’d marry him. I went with my original decision (much to the dismay of many who don’t want the relationship to work) and I’m happier than I’ve ever been.
6. I can drive a car. A manual, at that. And I’m good at it. Nuff said.
7. I’m not afraid of hard work. Right now I’m working full time, studying, getting ready to make the first move into my own house, AND working on self-improvement. A lot on my plate. But, you know what they say – By mile it’s a trial, by inch it’s a cinch! I’m getting there!
8. I can write. Really write. I’ve turned out poems and short stories and people have loved them. My old English teacher once set us an assignment in school – a 500 word short story. I got a bit carried away, and did 2000 words. I apologised when I gave it to him, because it was so long. He said not to worry, because he loved my writing. I got an A+, and it was published in the yearbook.
9. I love taking photos, or paperwork, anything really, and turning it into something nice to look at. I love colour. At work, I have to put pictures on labels, smiley faces on sticky notes, and a splash of colour wherever I can. Heck, I even put yellow paper in the fax machine once, but got told off…
10. I am a calm, placid person. It takes a lot for me to lose my temper. And when I do lose it, watch out! It doesn’t happen often though. I have a pretty strong hold on my emotions.

Responses

  1. I love this meme the mostest.

    Also, you have the strongest legs EVER. Zowee!


Leave a Reply

Categories

