Posted by: k | September 20, 2007

Doubting myself…

If I could figure out how to make this a protected post, I would… but I don’t know if I can do that…. so, anyway. I wonder if this’ll work…

As most of you know, I started a 12 Week Challenge at my gym a few weeks ago. If you didn’t know, have a look at the List, I’ve got it there.

I did really well for the first two weeks, then I kinda got slack. Let’s just say I didn’t totally fall off the wagon, I got my foot caught and I was being dragged along banging my head along the road for a few days. All the hard work I put in for the first two weeks is gone. I wiped it out when I got slack. I’m back on track now, but my confidence is battered. It’s going to take me weeks to wipe out that stupid gain.

So, that leaves me doubting myself. Am I really ever going to lose this weight? I mean, I’ve lost 8kg, and I feel healthier and fitter, but I look at the number on the scale, and it’s almost like I haven’t done anything at all. It feels like it’s never going to end.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, I feel like I’m faltering already… and I still have all this weight to lose. I don’t think I’m going to get to the goal I set for myself at the end of the year… I just doubt it. Which sucks, because if I don’t believe in myself, I know I won’t get there… but I just can’t seem to get motivated enough to push past all these doubts.

Responses

  1. Stumbles really suck and they can leave us doubting ourselves so much. I am not in the same boat as you but I can relate because of my nail biting. I do really well, letting them grow for a few days, but then I have a bad one and bite them really badly. Looking at them, gross and disgusting, the last thing I think I am capable of is growing them again, but the truth is, we just have to pick ourselves up and keep going.

    I read a quote once online – “If you stumble and fall, pick yourself up because you’re still facing in the right direction.”

    Don’t let yourself be discouraged because you might not make your goal by the end of the year. Make a new goal, something that’s possible, and something that can encourage you to give it a best shot. It is NEVER too late to start again. When I’m biting my nails, a week later I look at them in all their disgusting glory and think to myself, if I’d stopped biting them that week ago, they’d already be looking so much better.

    I don’t know if this has helped, but I just felt compelled to comment. You CAN do it. You’ve already come so far, losing 8kgs, that’s amazing! So don’t give up. =]

  2. In all fairness, you’re in the process of breaking a lifetime of habits. Falling of the wagon every once in a while is pretty normal. As long as you don’t give up, you’ll get to the point where you feel odd if you don’t go to the gym. It just take a while.


Leave a Reply

Categories

