Posted by: k | August 24, 2007

Dyslexics Untie!

Gotta laugh at lawyers… and their fancy prose.

I actually read a letter my boss got from his solicitor. Normally I just file it away or whatever my boss tells me to do, so I don’t bother reading. Well, I actually had a few minutes spare, and what can I say? I was curious.

My boss’ daughter is buying/has just bought a new house. The letter was in relation to that, and saying that she needed to get the contract certified by a JP. Fair enough, I thought.

Let me give you a brief description of this lawyer. He’s probably in his 40’s, with glasses, well-to-do, drives a late model car (as they all do). Also, whenever he comes into the office, he starts giving me orders, eg. “Copy this” etc. I also caught him looking at my boobs once. Was not impressed. Very unprofessional, don’t you think?

Anyway, as I read on, the lawyer mentioned that his secretary had made a mistake in drawing up the first lot of documents. The next sentence was:

“Please excuse my dyslectic secretary and please re-sign…”

To which I promptly pissed myself laughing.

Maybe he should have gotten his poor secretary to do a spell-check, because I do believe the word he meant to use was “dyslexic”.

It made me wonder who this secretary’s mentor is.

Now, you will all know by now that I am a spelling freak, I just cannot stand to see a word spelt incorrectly. Normally, if I see a mistake, I let off a frustrated sigh, correct it in my head, and move on.

Well folks, this is the first time I’ve seen something spelt wrong, and dissolved into a fit of giggles.

I will now read EVERY letter this guy sends, because believe it or not, “dyslectic” made my entire Thursday that little bit more bearable.

I sent an email home to remind myself to blog about it. The note I wrote myself?

“dyslectic secretary!!!! bahhahahah!”

Is that sad?

Responses

  1. Oh man.. what a snob – and what a hypocrite!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

