Posted by: k | July 16, 2007

Your own personal spellchecker!

So anyone who knows me well, will know that I am a bit of a spelling and punctuation nazi. Okay, nazi is a very strong term, obviously. Bad spelling and/or punctuation is a HUGE pet peeve of mine. It really gets my goat.

What really bugs me, is that in an office environment, you’d expect everyone to be able to spell correctly, right?

Wrong.

I must have super sensitive reading skills, because I can pick up a mis-spelt word a mile away. It makes me cringe. It makes me want to proof-read EVERYTHING that goes out of this office. It’s disgusting. I need to bite my tongue.

So far, off the top of my head, I’ve seen “pages” spelt as “pagers”, “partners” spelt as “parteners”, and several other, what I would call, simple mistakes.

My boss met my mum in the carpark one day, when my car was off the road and she had to drive me around (another story), and he was saying how good I am and that my spelling is “incredible”. His words, not mine.

And I thought, “eh, spelling things right isn’t that hard”. Apparently, for a lot of people, it is.

I guess it pisses me off because I’m a great fan of writing. I love a good book. And I admit to writing the odd poem, and attempting fanfic. And I always get positive reviews.

Maybe I’m being overly snarky, but I don’t think it’s too hard to make sure you’re spelling things right. For Christ’s sake, Microsoft Word has a spellchecker. If you’re lazy, hit F7. Wordpress has a spellchecker (and yes, I’ll admit to using it, because I don’t want to look like a fool).

Okay. I’m over it, for now. Until the next bit of paper sets me off.

Leave a Reply

Categories

