Posted by: k | April 11, 2007

Floyd

I joined an Australian Siamese Fighting Fish forum a few months back, because I'd just gotten a fighter (his name is Floyd) and I wanted to know more about him.

I eventually got a decent digital camera and took a photo of him, and posted it on the forum, and someone said that Floyd is a 'piebald'. Now, I knew that Floyd was a marble, which basically means that parts of the fish can change colour for a period of time, but it's not permanent in one specific area and it tends to move. But I had no idea what a 'piebald' was.

So, what do you do when you need to know something? You Google it, of course! This is what I got:

“A piebald is an animal, especially a horse, that has a spotting pattern of large white and black patches.”

Ahhhh.. It all makes sense now. I didn't realise that fish could do that, but then again my little guy is pretty special!

And here he is!!

Floyd!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

