Posted by: k | April 11, 2007

12020

Well, it's nearly 9am, and I have to say, today, is totally… well, sucky.

I woke up at 5am, after dreaming that Saddam Hussein was trying to kill me (don't ask me why), and then I couldn't get back to sleep. I was just starting to doze off again when mum came and got me at 6 for our walk. Not happy.
So I got my gear on, and my shoes and socks, and off we went.
Now, I assumed that I wouldn't need to put bandaids over my blisters, because my new shoes weren't rubbing anymore, and besides, I had my socks pulled up over the blister to prevent any unnecessary rubbing. But about 2 minutes into the walk, I had a look down at my foot, and there was blood! Sigh. I just kept going, it had been a little sore but it ended up just going numb.

I had my first shower under the new water restrictions this morning. I'll fill you in. In Brisbane, Australia, our dams are down to 20% capacity. We've been told that if we don't get decent rain soon, the dams will be empty by the end of next year. We've been on water restrictions now for quite some time, probably a few years now, but Level 5 restrictions have just come in. We are now expected to only use 140 litres of water per person per day. This includes showering, toilet flushing, laundry, the whole lot. Watering outside is restricted to bucket watering on two days of the week only, for 4 hour periods. Around here, we've forgotten what both hoses and sprinklers look like. We're not allowed to wash our cars anymore, only the windows, mirrors and number plates. Hell, there's not much we CAN do under these restrictions. Any household found to be using more than 800L per day (doesn't matter how many people live there) will be audited, and then big fines will start coming. All new houses being built after January 1, 2007, MUST have a water tank installed, and it needs to be connected to the house, to the toilet cistern and the washing machine. I know this because I work for a development company.

Anyway, back to my shower. We have to cut all showers back to 4 minutes. If we cut our showers down from 7 minutes to 4 minutes, I think they said we save 36 litres of water. Now I'm just an ordinary girl here. It's impossible for me to wash my hair, wash my body AND shave my legs in 4 minutes, and I'm not even going to attempt it.

I just wish it would bloody RAIN, DAMNIT!!! I wish the clouds would make their way over to Wivenhoe dam, and just piss down rain for a couple of weeks.

Ok. I'm sick of bitching about water, or lack thereof. Today sucks. My headache's come straight back too. Nice to know I can have a 4 day weekend and then get a headache because I haven't been in front of a computer.

Leave a Reply

Categories

