Posted by: k | March 23, 2007

7669

To the sceptics:

I'm sick of feeling like nobody trusts my judgement. I'm sick of people telling me that I'm making the biggest mistake of my life, and I wish people would realise that I am capable of making my own decisions, and people who try to convince me to change my mind on something just piss me off.

I'm in love, okay? I'm with a man I love very much, we've been together over a year now, and we're engaged. We're getting our stuff together so that soon we can move out of my parents' house and into our own place. I'm 19, and yes, I know that's young to be making such a committment. But, you see, I'm only engaged, not married. If it doesn't work out, a broken engagement is a lot easier to deal with than a broken marriage. And for the record, things WILL work out. I bet you were all taking about how it was going to turn to shit at our engagement party… thanks for having faith in us, by the way. NOT.

Please, just back off, okay? If it doesn't work out, then you can all say “I told you so”, I promise. Just let me figure out what's right for me. I hate feeling so uneasy all the time. I hate feeling like I'm an object being pulled in different directions by different people. I've got enough going on at the moment without feeling like I'm going to have a nervous breakdown.

If you don't think I'm making the right decision, then please just humour me and go along with it, and don't take every opportunity you can to try and get in my head.

Thanks.

From the girl who feels like walking away from it all.

Leave a Reply

Categories

